Northern Trust rising stars: Stenson, Spieth disqualified after misdeeds

FILE – Jordan Spieth reacts to a missed putt on the 11th hole during day one of the 114th U.S. Open on June 15, 2017, at Erin Hills in Erin, Wis. Two golfers have…

Northern Trust rising stars: Stenson, Spieth disqualified after misdeeds

FILE – Jordan Spieth reacts to a missed putt on the 11th hole during day one of the 114th U.S. Open on June 15, 2017, at Erin Hills in Erin, Wis.

Two golfers have been penalized after gaffes at the British Open.

Henrik Stenson won the British Open on Sunday with a birdie on the final hole, but he was docked two shots after an oversight by a linesman in relation to the tee box during the final round of golf.

A rules official had told Stenson, the day’s second-round leader, to take a shot from the blue marker to the right of the 16th tee box, instead of the green marker. He turned and, instead of the marker on the right, chose the green marker, which was on the left side of the fourth fairway. The linesman made the mistake and actually chose the wrong hole marker.

The officials made the same mistake twice in the back nine of the final round. During a third-round 4-foot par putt to preserve his five-shot lead, Stenson pulled his marker from the green and, after making his putt, spoke to the official who had incorrectly told him to take the shot from the blue marker, making him take his second shot. He eventually followed the original line and made his putt for bogey to keep his lead.

“I did a triple bogey on the 14th and all of the sudden you have 5, 6-shot leads and 5-shot leads in majors. All of a sudden you’ve got to pay attention,” Stenson said. “Then that happens on 17 and I was already in the lead and I realized it straight away.”

A similar incident happened to Jordan Spieth, who missed a par putt from the wrong distance at the 17th.

“I hit it on the green and was pretty sure I had it lined up but the green marker wasn’t far behind, so I started backtracking and thinking, ‘You know, maybe I can just make a five-footer here,’” Spieth said. “And I stopped short and then I turned and I said, ‘Was that line beside the green?’”

American Dustin Johnson, who will finish the tournament as the runner-up, also made a five-foot par putt after hearing an official signal another shot needed to be taken, but the line indicating a drop was next to the green.

“That’s the first time in my career that I’ve been talked out of a shot,” Johnson said. “As I walked off the tee, I know I missed it, but I knew where the marker was and I guess he decided to go another way because he was close to the marker.”

Leave a Comment